People who are convicted of a DWAI or DUI in Colorado may face strict legal consequences including fines, license revocation and jail time.
Colorado residents may enjoy going out for a few drinks with friends. However, people who choose to drive after drinking may be charged with a DUI in the state. Colorado law officers often pull people over who they suspect are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Suspected drunk drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test, which helps the court determine the driver’s blood alcohol content level. People who have a BAC of between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent may be charged with a DWAI or driving with ability impaired. People who are driving with a BAC of 0.08 and above may be convicted of a DUI or driving under the influence.
Driving while ability impaired
People who have a BAC of between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent may be charged with a DWAI. A first DWAI conviction may result in up to 180 days in jail and a $500 fine for a first-time offender. Those who are convicted of a second offense may spend up to one year in jail and pay up to $1,500 in fines. In some cases, second offenders may lose their driver’s license for at least one year. A third DWAI offense may result in a 2-year license suspension, up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,500.
Driving under the influence
Not all states have DWAI legislation. Yet, all of the states in the nation have laws regarding DUIs. In Colorado, DUI penalties include:
- First-time offenders: Up to one year in jail, up to $1,000 fine and nine-month driver’s license revocation.
- Second-time offenders: Up to one year in jail, up to $1,500 fine, loss of driver’s license for at least one year and required use of an ignition interlock device.
- Third-time offenders: A jail sentence of up to one year, up to $1,500 in fines, loss of driver’s license for two years and use of an ignition interlock device. When convicted of three DUIs in a seven-year period, the driver will be labeled a habitual traffic offender and may lose their driver’s license for an additional five years.
People who refuse to submit to a breath test could lose the driver’s license for up to three years depending on their history of rejecting breath tests. It is important to remember that each case has unique variables and that the circumstances can change depending on the particular situation. All DUI offenders are required to participate in drug and alcohol education program as part of their sentence and some offender will be required to complete a therapeutic program as well.
Contact an attorney who can help with your case
A DUI conviction can make it difficult for some people to obtain school financing, find employment in certain industries and retain their driver’s licenses. An established criminal attorney in Colorado may be helpful in organizing a defense for your DUI case and walk you through the somewhat complicated legal process.