DUI and DWAI convictions have serious consequences. You risk losing your driver’s license as well as gaining a criminal record, which can affect your ability to get a job or apply for a loan. Most people assume that because this is their first offense, they won’t be punished. However, depending on the amount of alcohol in your system, you can lose your driver’s license for up to nine months and end up in jail, even if it is your first offense. If you have been arrested for DUI, you need an experienced Boulder DUI attorney on your side.
At The Moorhead Law Group, we know the impact a DUI or DWAI conviction can have on your life and we know how to fight it. We have more than 30 years of experience in the Colorado legal system and both of our attorneys are former prosecutors. We have helped thousands of drivers deal with DUI charges and keep their driving privileges.
In addition to standard DUI and DWAI charges, our firm can help you with:
DUI accident charges, including assault and homicide
What Is The Difference Between DUI And DWAI In Colorado?
Police can charge driving under the influence (DUI) if the driver indicates the degree of alcohol or drugs in the bloodstream has substantially reduced the mental or physical capacity to operate the vehicle safely. In the case of alcohol, the legal limit for an adult in Colorado is usually determined to be .08 percent (or higher) blood alcohol content (BAC).
Driving while ability impaired (DWAI) is considered to be the lesser of the two drunk driving charges. Police can charge DWAI if they feel the alcohol or drugs render a person less able to operate a motor vehicle safely, even if only to the slightest degree. Typically, a .05 percent BAC can warrant a DWAI charge. Learn more about DUI and DWAI in Colorado.
Do I Really Need A Lawyer?
Most people assume they have no other option than to accept the charges against them because the prosecution can show the amount of alcohol in their blood exceeded the legal limit. This is not true. There are many ways to challenge a DUI or DWAI charge, including questioning the accuracy of the tests conducted and whether the arresting police officer handled the arrest and testing correctly.
More importantly, there may be ways we can save your driving privileges. The Boulder area is hard to get around without a car. We can help you get your driver’s license reinstated. Let us evaluate your case during a free initial consultation and inform you of whether or not you need a boulder DUI attorney.
Protect Yourself And Your Future
Call us at 303-447-1400 or contact us online to set up a time to come in and talk with our defense lawyers about DUI or DWAI charges.
Ask Us About Your Case “Experience You Need. Results You Want.”
Memberships & Recognition
1650 38th Street Suite 201E Boulder, CO 80301
Phone: 303-447-1400 Fax: 720-773-2535
The Moorhead Law Group is located in Boulder, Colorado, and also serves clients in Broomfield, Longmont, Westminster, Thornton, Arvada, Denver, Loveland, Greeley, Fort Collins, Brighton, Commerce City, Louisville and Lafayette, as well as Boulder County, Broomfield County, Gilpin County, Jefferson County, Weld County, Adams County, Arapahoe County and Summit County, and throughout the Front Range.